The Commission

The Commission is constituted as an organisation of five members by Section 62(6) of the Fair Competition Act of 2003. The five members include: 

(a) A Chairman, who shall be a non-executive appointed by the President;

(b) Three non-executive members appointed by the Minister; and

(c) The Director-General, also appointed by the Minister.


Below are the members of the Commission;





Prof. Samuel Wangwe  - CHAIRMAN


Professor Samuel M. Wangwe is currently the Chairman of The Commission. He also serves as the Executive Director of REPOA, one of the leading independent research institutions in Tanzania specialising in policy research on socio-economic and development issues. He has 35 years of experience as an economist, policy researcher, policy analyst, policy advisor, and as economist and an economic advisor to the Government of Tanzania.


Professor Wangwe holds a Ph.D in Economics (1980), MA in Economics (1973) and BA in Economics and Statistics (1972) from the University of Dar es Salaam; and has also worked as the head of the Department of Economics as well as dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the same university. During a three-year leave of absence from the University, he was senior research fellow at the Institute for New Technologies of the United Nations University in Maastricht, The Netherlands. Read More